Downhill Skiing On My Level

Standard

As the end of ski season draws nigh I thank my trusty Dynastars for another exhilarating, safe (touch wood) season of wintery bliss. On my run this morning I was thinking about something that has crossed my mind a lot lately. Our society places such emphasis on moving on up, getting better, improving, constantly changing. That’s all well and good but when are we allowed to just BE? To realize that we are good enough just as we are? To enjoy where we’re AT?

It seems strange to find profundity in skiing but I was reminded of this while testing some demo skis a few weekends ago. One sales rep tried to tell me that my current skis were holding me back. I almost felt offended! Holding me back? They whiz me down groomers reliably and help me pave the way through four mattress-deep marshmallow fluff powder if I’m lucky. What more could I ask for in a ski? OK, so the true powder skis that I tested at the end of the day turned me into queen of the mountain and could bring some new challenges my way, but I’m not quite ready to hang my Legends up yet. They’ve got miles of trails to go and loads more stories to tell before they sleep.

About mkresk

M.K. is a free-spirited freelance writer, teacher, editor, and performer. She produces intelligent, crisp copy in a timely, cooperative manner. Her skill and experience ranges from creative to educational writing with some marketing and feature writing thrown in for good measure. She's focusing now on writing for children but is game to work on most anything!

Leave a Reply

