The Wisdom of Mistakes

Standard

image

I’ve come across several articles lately which focus on lessons learned from mistakes. It’s always great to take something away from an unexpected event but sometimes I think people have a need to justify everything to the nth degree. I’m pretty convinced that sometimes people (aka I) do stupid things and just have to face the (stupid) consequences. Oh, it’s examples you’re after… Hmm, I don’t have to think too hard to remember the time I forgot I was on a bike and rode down an outdoor (concrete-enclosed) staircase, or when I walked into the high school cafeteria with my dress wide open, or (because I know it’s on your mind, Mom) when I fell off my stool playing the drum set and then proceeded to fall completely off the stage altogether! These examples tread dangerously close to the category of Embarrassing Moments, I realize, but really I guess my life has been almost one continuous embarrassing moment (aka mistake) now that I come to think of it. But that’s a different blog posting altogether.

My mistake of the week this week (so far, knock on wood) was when I had the brilliant idea to go for a run on Monday morning. It sounds innocent enough except that I didn’t quite realize there were 30 mph wind gusts roaring until I was, oh, half a mile from my house. Too late to turn around, in my book. But instead of taking it easy, since I’d already pushed it by running an 8-miler the day before, I thought it’d be a great day to practice hills! Or not. I could see the confused countenances of the drivers craning their necks to see me running on nature’s combo treadmill and stair master. I could even hear the low, confused murmurs of the few folks brave enough to be out running from their front door to their car. What IS this girl DOING?

But (and this is where the justification cop out comes in handy) I’m glad I persevered. I felt ill on the way home and (for the first time ever, mind you) even stopped for thirty seconds to regroup on the way home, but in the end I felt alive, awake, healthy, and enormously lucky to see these spring-green, elephant-fold foothills up close and personal. I might even choose to make this mistake again.

About mkresk

M.K. is a free-spirited freelance writer, teacher, editor, and performer. She produces intelligent, crisp copy in a timely, cooperative manner. Her skill and experience ranges from creative to educational writing with some marketing and feature writing thrown in for good measure. She's focusing now on writing for children but is game to work on most anything!

Leave a Reply

