Detour!

Standard

image

Is WashYourHandsIngton better or worse than the former state motto, Say WA? I’m no expert but I kinda think Washington state could use a little PR help. At least they win points for creativity.

This photo was taken in the Emergency Room on my unexpected trip with J as a patient. After a scary morning and an uncomfortable afternoon, he is fine and all is well. I didn’t get all the work done that I planned to, but life goes on. It was much more important to sit by J’s side. I had the unexpected surprise of getting to read a chunk of the book I’m desperate to finish, I got a much-needed haircut, and the day ended on a good note rocking out in my Big Band concert last night.

After thinking so much lately about the wisdom of mistakes, I am reminded about the closely-related concept of changes in life, and the importance of adaptability. I like having a map, a compass, and a to do list, but I also like adventure and surprises. Sometimes I need to be reminded of this. Being prepared for anything is really the best preparation. It’s a good day to remember that:

“The only constant in life is change.” (Francois de la Rochefoucauld)  “Life is 10% what happens to you and 90% how you react to it.” (Charles Swindoll) “Life is what happens while you’re busy making other plans.” (John Lennon) “Man plans, God laughs.” (Yiddish proverb)

About mkresk

M.K. is a free-spirited freelance writer, teacher, editor, and performer. She produces intelligent, crisp copy in a timely, cooperative manner. Her skill and experience ranges from creative to educational writing with some marketing and feature writing thrown in for good measure. She's focusing now on writing for children but is game to work on most anything!

Leave a Reply

