A Few Good Students

Standard

image

Remember when you were little and pretended you were EVERYTHING? Doctor, actor, actuary, grocery bagger… I kinda never grew out of that. I wear many hats on any given day. Just today I have been an athletic inmate (ok, long story…I will explain in a future post), a writer, a promotions coordinator, a prospective job seeker, a mentor, a singer, and a parent. A parent? Without kids? Yes. Those who know me would definitely attest that I am a bit connected to my kitties, but really it is my kiddos to whom I refer this time.

I have been so privileged to work with the GEAR UP Scholars this year. Today a few of these awesome students went back to their old middle school (where their GEAR UP journey began) to inform their former teachers of their future college and career plans, and to thank them for being the first chapter in their future success.

I had tears in my eyes. My role as the group photographer (oops–one more job try on for the day) gave me the pleasure of listening to each of these students speak so articulately and confidently about who they are becoming. The teachers oohed and aahed, and later shared that it was better than any “teacher appreciation candy” they had ever received.

Afterwards I got to share the kids’ enthusiasm about how good it felt to say those things and to see them reflect on how much has changed since they crossed the street from middle schoolers to high schoolers.

I am proud of them and they are proud of themselves. It is incredible to see these students at this point. I wish I could be beamed into the future just a bit to see what the next road each of them takes will bring.

About mkresk

M.K. is a free-spirited freelance writer, teacher, editor, and performer. She produces intelligent, crisp copy in a timely, cooperative manner. Her skill and experience ranges from creative to educational writing with some marketing and feature writing thrown in for good measure. She's focusing now on writing for children but is game to work on most anything!

Leave a Reply

