Hair Today, Gone Tomorrow

Standard

While digging through childhood photo albums recently I came across this picture. I look awfully excited about my new ‘do, don’t I? I should really post the play-by-play photo sequence that followed. It starts with this beaming smile and gradually morphs into, “But Mom, how can you be upset that my friend S. cut my hair? The half short/half long uneven look is totally in right now! The asymmetrical look is really quite avant-garde among the preschool set!” The scene ends in a hug that says this will never, ever happen again. I promise.

The still-supportive yet sighing stare my mom is giving little me in this photo says it all. In a month that started with a day to celebrate mothers I’m finding small ways to honor mine all May. Thanks, Mom, for ALWAYS being ultra-supportive of me in all of my varied adventures. You are still my biggest fan.

I should also give a huge thanks to the kiddy cosmetologist in question, my oldest friend, S, who went to Redding Cooperative Preschool with me. (We met when she slammed the door in my face and gave me a bloody nose. We’ve been friends ever since.) I respect your creative style and lifelong actions that always push the envelope. And I’m so happy that we are still going through the graduate school of life together.

About mkresk

M.K. is a free-spirited freelance writer, teacher, editor, and performer. She produces intelligent, crisp copy in a timely, cooperative manner. Her skill and experience ranges from creative to educational writing with some marketing and feature writing thrown in for good measure. She's focusing now on writing for children but is game to work on most anything!

One response »

  1. I can’t believe I just saw this! Awwww, thanks, M. I’m ever so thankful that I opened the door with such verve to inflict my first (and last) bloody nose! I’m also glad that your mom finally forgave me for my first beauty experiment… Since then I mostly take out my creative urges on myself, and have gotten much better at cutting hair since that first attempt!

Leave a Reply

