Matcha, Matcha Girl

Standard

image

It has been so cold here for the end of May. I have been drinking oodles of tea. Recently I broke out my matcha green tea stash from our trip to Japan last fall. I have been saving this fun handmade “happy neko” cup that I acquired there for a special occasion. A quiet moment for tea meditation seemed just right. It isn’t even a traditional matcha bowl and I still need to get a special bamboo whisk to make it properly, but otherwise I tried to follow the matcha maker rules I know to a (ha ha) T. It was a decent representation this first go round. But now besides the wonderful memories and images that come to mind when I remember autumn in Kyoto, going to Shinto shrines with Masayo, and visiting giant Buddhas, I have to wonder what devastation many Japanese people are still dealing with as they sip their tea these many months after the tsunami. I need to find more ways to help. Maybe my Red Cross disaster relief training will be a useful next step.

About mkresk

M.K. is a free-spirited freelance writer, teacher, editor, and performer. She produces intelligent, crisp copy in a timely, cooperative manner. Her skill and experience ranges from creative to educational writing with some marketing and feature writing thrown in for good measure. She's focusing now on writing for children but is game to work on most anything!

One response »

Leave a Reply

